frogs, dinosaurs, & organ donation

18 years ago today, my momma gave me life for a second time when she donated her kidney to me.



 
today, i'm hanging out with my girl & a frog. ;)

twirly swirly fabulous how that all worked out, isn't it?
(of course it isn't that cut and dry, but the big picture baby, the big picture!)

last night r came to bed late, he was up into the wee hours of the morning working on a new app. he said there was a dinosaur on his pillow and it made him laugh. those nights when he comes to bed late and i wake up just enough to remember his gesture of squeezing my hand as a goodnight toast? those nights are the little things that make up the big things that you remember when your life flashes before your very eyes.

& yes, my life has flashed before my eyes multiple times before.

oh yeah? the above photo? i have pink hair. as of yesterday. because life is short.

all of this? the dinosaur on the pillow, the hand holding at 2 am, the throwing caution to the wind and taking the leap by getting pink streaks in my hair? none of it would have been possible without organ donation, my life would have ended at 11 years old. yes, it was my mother, but oh it is SUCH a remarkable thing and still has the divine power to render me speechless with fascination. the fact that this kidney survived a pregnancy is one of the BIGGEST blessings of my story.

tell me, are YOU an organ donor?


16 comments :

  1. Hi there I have technically followed your blog for a while now but haven't really read it. Tonight I felt led to read it for some reason. So I think I need to read more about your story. So your daughter there had the kidney from you?

    I'm looking forward to getting to know you better!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great post! You really inspire me to take risks and enjoy life moment-by-moment. That seems to be a common thread throughout the posts I'm reading from The Wiegand's today... and a good one, if I do say so myself. So glad that you're here to share your story AND that your mama's kidney was strong enough to make you a mother too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. so grateful your momma helped give you new life ;) and love the pink! live it up girl!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Happy...um...kidney birthday? :P

    Yes, I am a donor, not for kidneys, obviously, but so far as I know, everything else is healthy. :)

    Apparently NZ has one of the worst organ donation rates in the world. Not cool.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think any mother would give an organ to their child, and isn't that just a remarkable thing altogether. I'm a donor, but I don't carry a card on my person, which I should. I'll have to sort that out !
    http://myfroley.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am an organ donor and am so happy for you! Wonderful post!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete